The price of marijuana products at West Virginia medical cannabis dispensaries will vary by location and product type. Other factors that affect how much medical cannabis patients pay also include the quality and cultivar of marijuana used in the final product. For example, the average cost of 1 ounce of high quality marijuana in West Virginia is $363 while the same amount of medium quality marijuana goes for about $256.
No. Marijuana dispensaries usually refuse to accept credit card payments because banks and credit card companies are known to block transactions involving the transfer of marijuana. This is only likely to change when the US finally legalizes marijuana and removes it from the list of Schedule I controlled substances. Currently, you can pay for a marijuana order at a West Virginia dispensary with cash. Some dispensaries also accept debit cards and select mobile app payment options.
Yes. West Virginia charges a Cannabis Dispensary Tax (CDT) on dispensaries’ gross receipts on the sale of medical cannabis. The CDT rate is 10% and collected every quarter.
Recreational marijuana is currently illegal in West Virginia.
West Virginia does not have a state-run program that allows any group of registered patients access to medical cannabis at a lower price. The state’s Medical Cannabis Act also does not allow patients to grow cannabis at home for personal use. However, patients can still save money on the cost of medical marijuana at dispensaries through product discounts, sales events, and loyalty programs. They may also be able to lower the cost of their medical cannabis prescriptions by checking multiple dispensaries near them for better deals and lower prices.